Know Your Farmer, Know Your LocaleSM
* Locale - noun [loh-kal] A place or locality, including the events, people, food & wine associated with it.
Adjust Text:  a a a a
 
  
Search by Locale Name or Locale ID    
(e.g. Rivenrock Gardens or CA0002)
Search by Keyword  

Product Suppliers 
 
Reviewer Comments For:

Edible Chicago
click to zoom
Not accepting new reviews  |  Visit Website
Average Customer Rating
5.0 / 55.0 / 55.0 / 55.0 / 55.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Average Rating based on 1 Review
Consumer Appeal 
5.00/55.00/55.00/5
 (5.00)
Wholesaler Appeal 
5.00/55.00/55.00/5
 (5.00)
Farm Visitor Appeal 
5.00/55.00/55.00/5
 (5.00)

Compared to group locale averages
Consumer Appeal 
5.00/55.00/55.00/5
 (5.00)
Wholesaler Appeal 
5.00/55.00/55.00/5
 (5.00)
Farm Visitor Appeal 
5.00/55.00/55.00/5
 (5.00)


 
  Tell a friend!

Edible Chicago

Locale ID IL6000

Run by Ann Flood & RJ Liscum


About

WELCOME to Edible Chicago - metro Chicago's seasonally print magazine solely dedicated to showcasing and promoting our local food shed. Edible Chicago offers its readers a direct connection to the local producers who can provide a bounty of fresh ingredients for consumption. Rich with editorial content and stunning photography, our mission is to transform the way communities shop for, cook, eat and relate to the food that is grown and produced in our area. We value local, seasonal, authetic foods and culinary traditions. At Edible Chicago, we strive to put a face on every farmer as well as tell their stories and champion their efforts towards a more sustainable food system. Our area surrounds not only metro Chicago but also surrounding communities in Lake, Cook, Will, Kendall and DuPage counties. Our editorial and advertiser support encompasses the Great Lakes region which includes Wisconsin, Michigan, Indiana and Minnesota.

With our features, "The Lake Effect" and "The Kitchen Files: Reading Local" to "From the Good Earth" and "ChicaGROWS" we offer our readers a variety of content and resources to entertain and inform. Learn seasonal recipes from chefs and home cooks, where to buy artisan foods or shop local farmers markets. Meet an organic gardner in the city, and then read a fascinating tale about the life of a regional farmer in Central Illinois or Southwestern Wisconsin. We go beyond the printed word to help our readers make connections with the regional growers, local chefs, food artisans and what we call local heroes who elevate our knowledge and palate. Edible Chicago is 100% locally owned and operated. Our freelance writers, editors and photographers are Chicago based professionals and many are chefs or farmers.

Join us in celebrating the abundance of local foods, season by season.

Click for Locale Profile


Look For "Shelf Talker" Grower Cards At Food Stores

Are you the grower? To order Shelf Talker business cards which can be customized and feature grower information
on the reverse of the card (see images below) please check out these resource pages:

Know Your Farmer Shelf Talker with QR Code* by Top10ProduceLLC   |   Browse Traceability Business Cards
Know Your Farmer Shelf Talker with QR Code profilecard Know Your Farmer Shelf Talker with QR Code profilecard
* QR Code is registered trademark of DENSO WAVE INCORPORATED


Last Update: June 9, 2010
 
  
 
NOTE: We are updating profiles as quickly as we can - but if you would like to request that we update a grower's locale profile immediately, CLICK HERE and put in the Locale ID (i.e. CA5005) and we will update the requested profile immediately.

We also provide a printable PDF of the instructions for How To Add A Business and How To Add A Produce Item to the site.


I help keep family farmers on their land. Join us at www.FarmAid.org
Global market access to fresh products
About Us | Contact Us | FAQ | Terms Of Use | Privacy Policy | Bookmark This Site

Copyright © 2018 All rights reserved.