Know Your Farmer, Know Your LocaleSM
* Locale - noun [loh-kal] A place or locality, including the events, people, food & wine associated with it.
Adjust Text:  a a a a
 
  
Search by Locale Name or Locale ID    
(e.g. Rivenrock Gardens or CA0002)
Search by Keyword  

Product Suppliers 
 
Reviewer Comments For:

Localfoodsystems.org
click to zoom
Not accepting new reviews  |  Visit Website
Average Customer Rating
4.7 / 54.7 / 54.7 / 54.7 / 54.7 / 5
4.7 / 5

Average Rating based on 1 Review
Consumer Appeal 
5.00/55.00/55.00/5
 (5.00)
Wholesaler Appeal 
4.00/54.00/54.00/54.00/5
 (4.00)
Farm Visitor Appeal 
5.00/55.00/55.00/5
 (5.00)

Compared to group locale averages
Consumer Appeal 
5.00/55.00/55.00/5
 (5.00)
Wholesaler Appeal 
5.00/55.00/55.00/5
 (5.00)
Farm Visitor Appeal 
5.00/55.00/55.00/5
 (5.00)

  Tell a friend!

Localfoodsystems.org

Locale ID AL6006

Run by
  new    popular 

About

About Us We believe . . . 1. We have the people, land and climate needed to produce fresh, affordable, and healthy food. 2. Our growing community of producers and consumers can create strong local food systems, reduce use of fossil fuels, and create businesses and jobs. 3. Vibrant local and regional agriculture generates wealth in communities, establishes healthy environments for families, and enhances quality of life for all. Our goal . . . To move as quickly as possible from a group of individuals using on line tools for information sharing and communication to an active collaboration building strong local and regional economies and business ecosystems. Local and regional food systems are both an immediate goal and a springboard to further action. Our history . . . The Agroecosystems Management Program of the Ohio State University’s Ohio Agricultural Research and Development Center organized a local food systems infrastructure workshop held at the Ohio Department of Agriculture on February 29, 2008. The workshop brought together key participants from throughout the Ohio food system for the first time, and generated tremendous energy and excitement about working together on the distribution infrastructure for local food systems in Ohio. This social networking website, the localfoodssystems.org was launched during this workshop as a way to keep the approximately 90 workshop participants connected, communicating, and productive. The site has since tripled in the number of subscribers and more than doubled in the number of working groups around such topics as value added processing, marketing, local procurement for food service companies and schools, and urban food access. More . .. The approximately $10K investment in the workshop and networking site led within six months to a $2.2 million ($1.1 million federal funds matched by $1.1 million in state and industry funds) Regional Partnerships for Innovation grant to OARDC through the USDA Specialty Crops Research Initiative. This grant provides the resources needed to focus on strengthening networking capacity and honing collaborative skills to prompt market expansion, technology commercialization, and business growth through local food systems that produce and deliver specialty crops in Ohio, Pennsylvania and Michigan.

Click for Locale Profile


Look For "Shelf Talker" Grower Cards At Food Stores

Are you the grower? To order Shelf Talker business cards which can be customized and feature grower information
on the reverse of the card (see images below) please check out these resource pages:

Know Your Farmer Shelf Talker with QR Code* by Top10ProduceLLC   |   Browse Traceability Business Cards
Know Your Farmer Shelf Talker with QR Code profilecard Know Your Farmer Shelf Talker with QR Code profilecard
* QR Code is registered trademark of DENSO WAVE INCORPORATED


Last Update: June 1, 2010
 
  
 
NOTE: We are updating profiles as quickly as we can - but if you would like to request that we update a grower's locale profile immediately, CLICK HERE and put in the Locale ID (i.e. CA5005) and we will update the requested profile immediately.

We also provide a printable PDF of the instructions for How To Add A Business and How To Add A Produce Item to the site.


I help keep family farmers on their land. Join us at www.FarmAid.org
Global market access to fresh products
About Us | Contact Us | FAQ | Terms Of Use | Privacy Policy | Bookmark This Site

Copyright © 2017 All rights reserved.